Macro lens + camera for Raspberry Pi

Hi. I’m new to image capture using the R-Pi so wondered if anybody could advise me on the following application, please?

I wish to use the R-Pi to capture still images of a fingerprint at the tip of my index finger (either monochrome or colour. Leaving aside the lighting aspect of this application for the moment, I would like to identify a R-Pi compatible camera sensor + lens that can do this (or at least get as close as possible). Please can anyone suggest a lens I can buy that will connect to the R-Pi?

I imagine that I need a lens with a decent magnification to pick out the fingerprint swirls? Fixed focus is fine - I can move my finger close or far until it is in focus, but ideally I would like the focal point to be about 40-60mm from the front of the lens. This gives me enough depth to light the scene.

Thank you

Hi! There are several issues I need to mention:

(1) About the magnification: We prefer using “Field of View” over “Magnification.” A digital photo could be zoomed in and out on a screen of any size, so it’s hard for us to give a strict definition of how much it’s magnified. Field of View, on the other hand, defines the area of the scene you want to capture, and is usually expressed in the degrees of angles.

For example, Let’s assume the fingerprint of your index finger is 20mm wide, you want the fingerprint to cover the whole picture’s width, and you are shooting the picture from 40mm away. From that setup we will be getting a triangle with a bottom width of 20mm and a height of 40mm, which leads to a Horizontal Field of View (HFoV) of 28 degrees. From 60mm away, it will be 19 degrees to cover the whole fingerprint with 20mm width.

(2) The focus issue: Actually most fixed-focus (FF) cameras are focused to infinity with a limited minimum object distance (M.O.D). For example, the official Raspberry Pi cameras claims to offer a focused viewing distance of 1m to infinity.